top of page

Veronica Lopez

I serve as an AmeriCorps member with Pima Adult Education. Through this program and the training workshops it provides, I have the opportunity to be a Student Success Coach. I enjoy supporting students with their homework, letting them know about resources in our community, and helping to set short and long-term goals. I also inspire them through positivity and hope, always encouraging them that there is a solution.

Adult Education is a second opportunity at success that can be a big challenge in our lives when we have family. AmeriCorps members help to give emotional support to students and provide information about services that can help them financially. When students try as much as they can to better their education, more opportunities follow. I love to help students overcome obstacles so they can stay in the school.

About two months ago my AmeriCorps coordinator Maryann informed me that Pima Community College was offering The Early Childhood Education certificate at no cost at the 29 St. Coalition Center. The course would run for two weeks, totaling 60 hours. I felt so happy. I took the flyer and made copies, reading it very carefully. I wanted to be well informed and ready to provide the information to the students. I started sharing the information and felt excited that they showed interest in the course. I shared the information with eleven students and six of them attended and finished the course. Later, when I asked them how they felt, I noticed a big difference in their attitude about taking college classes. They were afraid before, but now they had confidence to continue studying and educating themselves. They really enjoyed the course and the teachers who facilitated the classes were supportive.

Maribel Ramos and Yadira Ramos, two sisters who took the class, surprised me the most. Before the signing up, they didn’t know what careers to pursue. They felt that they could not change their lives. It’s amazing how education can alter one’s life course. Seeing this made me want to continue trying to help others and let people know the importance of the Adult Education Program. It is never too late to improve oneself. Since taking the course, they are planning to open a childcare facility.

I want to say thank you to the AmeriCorps Program for giving me the training and the opportunity to be a Student Success Coach. I also want to acknowledge the Adult Education Program for supporting adult students and giving AmeriCorps members the opportunity to improve themselves by helping students. I didn’t have words to describe my feelings when I saw the picture of the proud students holding their certificates. I’m happy to be a small part of their success. I accomplished another goal in my life because their success is my success.


Comentarios


bottom of page