top of page

True Colors Workshop


So, I decided to find out what color my personality was at the True Colors Workshop. I also

wanted to know who I would get along best with. El Rio Learning Center at 1390 W. Speedway

Boulevard in Tucson, Arizona, organized a True Colors Workshop, giving me the

opportunity to learn about myself. The workshop included an enthusiastic crowd of students, just like myself, eager to get some answers.

The session began by answering a few questions addressed to the group. People moved to

different sides of the room, according to their answers. Visually, you could see

how individual's answers divided the room. Examples of some of the questions were:

“If you were invited to a party, what would your immediate response be? Would you say yes or

would you think about it before giving an answer?”

“You come home tired from a long day and you have dishes in your sink. Would you wash them

or leave them for the next day?”

The facilitators then launched into a role-playing scenario which highlighted how diverse personalities

react differently in a specific situation. This was comical and insightful. Would these four people survive on a

road trip together with clashing opinions and behavior?

After the activity, we turned inward and filled out a chart called, “What Color Is Your

Personality? We had to number twenty-five adjectives in order of significance, from one to four. Our ratings

for these questions would define our way of thinking and beliefs. Whatever color had the most points became

the color of our personality. I found out that my overwhelming color was green, following by orange,

and a tie between blue and yellow colors.

Colored markers were handed out and we translated our ratings into charts which

provided tangible evidence of our true colors. The students were given hand-outs

summarizing the qualities colors of orange, yellow, green, and blue. Once we knew our colors,

we gathered with our cohorts and made posters reflecting our personalities.

In short, I had fun doing the activities in the workshop at El Rio Learning Center, and finding

out a little more about myself. Now, I know how to communicate better with different

personality types, especially with the color that gets along best with green. I guess you will have

to attend a True Color Workshop to find out your true colors the next time it’s presented.

Comments


bottom of page