top of page

Francine Raymond


AmeriCorps is a place to grow; a place to be acknowledged and be proud; a place to expand your mind and reach your goals. In AmeriCorps, being a leader is natural and sharing the skills one gains is satisfying. Sometimes life is hard to live, but when you have something to share, those moments may become unforgettable and dear. Sharing an idea and seeing it manifest is more than anyone could ask for. The things I’ve learned have impacted me so much in a short period of time. I’m now able to navigate my future and set my own goals. Being able to work in a group so dedicated is rewarding, not only for me but for the other AmeriCorps members as well.

In the beginning of the program, I wasn’t sure what my future goals were. AmeriCorps taught me to be driven, be determined, and be assured that my future dreams could become a reality. When I first began, I knew the program involved helping others. I didn’t know it was going to help me become more aware of my future educational goals.

As time approaches, I will be finishing the IBest program. I will receive a college certificate and GED at the same time. I see myself furthering my education in my future. To acknowledge this growth is a great accomplishment for me as an AmeriCorps member.

Volunteering gives me the opportunity to give support where it is needed and to help students no matter what their educational level. If there’s an opportunity, a student who is willing to learn will learn. I was given the opportunity and it has given me a chance to move forward and give.

Sharing ideas as a leader, a student, and a person has taught me to be patient, to listen, and give support where support is needed. Using these skills as an AmeriCorps member has also allowed me to continue to work with Student Leadership Council, addressing concerns of students and the community. SLC makes things possible for students and others. For example, we were able to initiate the improvement of a bus stop in the community.

With the support of the AmeriCorps and its members, I will be attending Pima Community College. Support is important for any student seeking education for the first time. It has taught me to seek an opportunity, have a plan, and reach my goals.


Comentarios


bottom of page