top of page

Carmen Gaytan

Building Bridges

One of the experiences that has had the most impact on my AmeriCorps member service has been volunteering in the Refugee Education Program (REP). At first, I was nervous because I didn’t know how to treat the refugee students or how to communicate with them but during the days and weeks that I have been spending time with them I realized that I didn’t have any reason to be nervous. These people have really impressed me and have taught me a lot.

One of the things that I most admire from them is their dedication and will to learn because I can see how hard they try, the effort they put in, and the difficulties that they have because some of them don’t know how to read and write in their own language. Also, I can see that they have many problems pronouncing some sounds from the alphabet maybe because they don’t have that sound in their own language. I think it is more difficult for an adult to get used to pronouncing sounds they never used before. In this case, I can relate with them because I am also an adult learning a new language and I have some of the same issues with my English pronunciation.

There is a student with whom I have been working this session at the 29th Coalition Center. We have been studying the sounds from the alphabet and how to write them. He doesn’t know how to read and write in his own language. At the beginning, when he would arrive to class, he would sign in with just an X and not his name. A Few days ago when he arrived to class, I asked him to sign in with his name because I believed in him then I saw how he carefully started to write “O S M A N.” When he finished writing his name, I congratulated him and I could see the joy and pride that he felt by writing his name for the first time.

Something that the Refugee students have taught me is that we have to learn to adapt and be happy despite our life’s circumstances. I see them arrive to class every day and I think of the many difficulties they had in their countries before coming here since many of the refugee students have experienced war, physical or emotional abuse. They had to leave their homes because of political problems and others had their lives threatened. Now, they have many challenges to overcome by living in a very far country with a different culture and a different life-style. Many are unable to communicate but nevertheless they look happy and smile all the time. I think the culture shock is very strong.

Another thing I admire from my students is how they support and help each other with to understand English. Some of them understand a little more English than others and I see how they try to explain the meaning in their own language. My Refugee students are very grateful and warm people. I think that having the opportunity to help them is a blessing in my life.


Комментарии


bottom of page