top of page

Yolanda Gosage


In the beginning of this first quarter, as AmeriCorps member I have had the opportunity to do my services in ELLA 40 class and Refugee Program assisting teachers and students. It has been a very rewarding experience in my life. I will explain some of the events that have happened so far below and how it has helped me grow, learn and understand more about what is needed of me in my journey with AmeriCorps.

My first day at ELLA class was very fun and dynamic. I introduced myself to the students giving me the opportunity to connect better with them. My experience in the class has been really gratifying for me. I began going table by table checking the student’s work and that is where I identified that some of the students need more help or they were having a more difficult time understanding directions or they just don’t know how to start the assignments. I explained in another way how they can achieve the tasks but some of them felt afraid to ask questions or make mistakes. I told them is ok to make mistakes because it is another way that you can learn. The thing that helped me best to work with the students is taking them aside, one on one, and working and communicating with them. This helped develop a bond of trust to help and not only gain their confidence but also teach them about my “open door policy” and that I was there to help them grow in their studies.

Every morning, I arrived early to help those who need tutoring or help with any homework assignments. I was also there to help assist any students that just had some basic questions or concerns. I helped answer their questions to the best of my ability and if there was something that I couldn’t answer, I sent them in the right direction where they could get their questions answered. This was another good way to help improve their speaking, listening, reading or writing skills and that makes them feel more confident to participate in class. They ask me for help every time they need to participate out loud because they get really nervous so I stand close-by, offering my support, to them in case they need me. We began to have a connection and I felt that little by little they began trusting me. This made them feel more confident in their own learning experience as well.

I share with them my knowledge and experiences as an ELLA 070 student and how can they explore more about the language and continuing to work building their skills and achieve their goals. I offered exercises and additional ways to further their studies to help them grasp on their studies. It made me proud to see their levels grow and how far they have come since my first day in AmeriCorps.

For additional ways to help in the Refugee Program, there are students who don’t have writing skills, making more difficult and harder to help their literacy skills. I regularly sit at the table where the most needs are and some of them have difficulty seeing the screen. I have learned that several students need glasses but don’t have them. I have helped dictate and copy the words on paper so that they can see what was written on the board and helped close the gap between the student and the teachers. What I have done differently is seeing where their strong suits are and work on those to help improve. I them help explain it to their peers in ways that sometimes they are able to grasp better than a teacher or me can do. This in turn helps create a special relationship between the students that grow and prosper in seeing each other mature as a student.

In another activity that I have been involved in was the Student Leadership Council. That has helped me to get more involved in continuing to help the students. Working with the students we have come up with some ideas. One idea in particular that I have developed, along with the ideas of the students, was a Conversation Club. The Conversation Club that I am working to help create is all about helping to improve their English Skills in real life situations, outside of the normal textbook examples, real things that may arise in their life and how they can naturally respond to them. For example, some of the discussions that can help make this happen is how to better express themselves in common situations. Another example is teaching how to converse with people from other countries and cultures. We are currently building the idea and working to make this become a reality as soon as possible to help those students who want to further their education outside of class.

Overall, I really enjoy the opportunity to be a part of AmeriCorps and the opportunities it has brought to me. Some of my favorite activities I have come to like is the ability to work with the students. I have really enjoyed the opportunity to help the students in the class, develop great relationships, and see them grow and rise in their studies. I look forward to the continued adventures that will come up in the next few months as I continue my services in AmeriCorps and the challenges and adventures we will face together.


Comments


bottom of page