top of page

Rosa Quintana

The Privilege to Help

It’s amazing to see how people from countries around the world, speaking different languages while being busy and are problem-filled adults with active jobs, still have the enthusiasm to come and learn English. They take time from their busy schedules and many of them with small children and a million things to do at home. Each day, these people come to class determined to learn more about this language we speak. I am lucky enough to be able to help as a volunteer in the English Beginning Learning Class at El Rio Learning Center where I also attend my daily GED classes.

One student that particularly stands out is Myryam. She is a Vietnamese lady that, despite her complex and different language, never fails to come to class. She pays full attention to the teacher, asks questions when she doesn’t understand a concept, participates in class, and has little by little advancement in her learning. I have had the opportunity to help her and find other resources to translate back to her language (Vietnamese) so that she will be able to understand the topic in class and be able to practice at home. Watching Myryam so dedicated and confident in learning English motivates me to keep supporting her as well as the rest of the class.

Another student that motivates me is Saily, coming from Cuba. Saily has only been in the United States for two months. She is very happy and cheerful all the time. In class she has advanced and learned very much as well as asked many questions to clarify her confusion. Her priority is to learn English and that motivates the whole class to learn with her. Both Myryam and Saily have impacted my experience in school while I have been in AmeriCorps.

I also have the opportunity to help the students and teacher in my classes of Math, Reading, and Writing. Seeing that my peers needed help, I talked to them, gave them their options as students, and opened a line of communication between the teacher and the students. I am happy to be that bridge between them, this way my teacher and I can help out the students more. The other day in class, I persuaded and helped a group of advanced students that were ready to take the math test to write an essay for it. I worked with them on the essay so we could present the essay to the teacher who would then permit us to do the official test.

This experience reminds me that one day when I came to this country, I began just like one of them. I learned a little bit each day but never enough to get my GED. This motivated me to work for a better education so I can be able to have a better career. As an AmeriCorps member, it is very satisfying to me to be a help to someone else that has the same enthusiasm as I had when I begun. They will continue with their studies, and I will keep supporting them if God allows me to.


Comments


bottom of page