top of page

Ricardo Miranda


Last year in August 2015, I was accepted into a program that would change my life and the way I thought abouteducation. The program is called AmeriCorps. It’s a non­profit organization that helps adults obtain their GED or HighSchool Equivalency. I was very proud I was going to be a part of it.

Never did I think that on the day I signed up for my GED classes that I would be in the place that I’m in right now. AllI wanted to do was get my GED and leave. I just wanted to get a better job or just simply say, “Hey, I did it.” There were times when I wanted to quit and just give up. When I applied for AmeriCorps I was not accepted, but something wastelling me not to give up; to be patient with myself. I got an email from AmeriCorps requesting that I meet with the coordinator. My heart dropped. I was shocked and nervous at the same time. After an interview, I received good news that I was accepted as an AmeriCorps volunteer. I was happy to know that my life would change.

Joining AmeriCorps has been great. From coaching students, volunteering in our community, role playing in workshops, and learning about voter’s rights, we have impacted others and ourselves. Being an AmeriCorps volunteer is great way to get your voice heard and to find outwhat's going on in your community. We are almost at the end. I have obtained great leadership skills which will come in handy later in my career. Ipassed three out of four tests and I’m one test away from getting my GED.

Once I get my GED, I will use what I've learned to better myself. It’s amazing to know that I'm really close to finishing, especially since I wanted to give up. If it hadn’t been for one day in class, I would have never known about AmeriCorps. The members on the team are supportive and motivating. We encourage each other to improve ourselves. That's just what we do. That’s what AmeriCorps does. We help whoever is in need.

In closing, I couldn't be happier or more thankful that I was able to be a part of this great team. I’ve accomplished many things being anAmeriCorps member. I’ve had great opportunities. I am thankful for the support which has allowed me to get this far.

AmeriCorps members set goals and we go as far as our dreams will allow us to go. AmeriCorps has been a great adventure. I’m looking forward to finishing the year with this knowledge. Education is the key to success and without education, life is a harder road to follow.


Comentarios


bottom of page