top of page

Karina Bencomo


Since I became an AmeriCorps member I really enjoy working with the students in the ELAA 40-50 class. I see all these students who try their hardest to learn a second language even though they have a really busy schedule like jobs or are homemakers. They still find the energy to come to class at night after a long day.

While helping in class, I go around helping students one by one and become familiar with the students, their struggles and their needs. For example, some of them have trouble with learning English and transitioning to school after so many years of not studying anything.

I was honored to help out a wonderful lady by the name of Maria. She was inspired to learn English because of her son who told her he admired everything she has done for him. If he could learn something new so can she. Maria loves how confident her son is and how anything he puts to his mind he is able to conquer. One day, while self-studying at home she felt frustrated because she didn't think she would ever be able to learn English because she felt she was too old to learn. Maria then said if it wasn't for her son telling her she was the reason why he pushed so hard for everything he accomplished because growing up he saw how hard Maria pushed the family for better.

Maria saw how much of an impact she was to her family so she enrolled in ELAA classes at El Pueblo Learning Center where she enjoys coming to class and does not miss. She really enjoys how her instructor teaches everyone and keeps the class engaged with his games and very energetic personality. Maria also loves how the center cares for their students and provides them with lots of help like one on one help in classes and tutoring from AmeriCorps members. Maria now is able to communicate in English by writing and she is still working on her speaking. She also would like to continue coming to this center after she gets better with her English to earn her GED.

The reason Maria has impacted me so much is because she’s an inspiration. She is a woman who always puts her family before herself. Despite working all day she still takes the initiative to study on days that she does not have class and makes it to all her classes. Maria has motivated me in so many ways, not just as a mother, but as a student as well. I have learned from Maria that age shouldn't hold you back from what you want to achieve in life or make a difference in how long it takes to get to your dream goal. Meeting Maria was just what I need to motivate me to push harder for my GED. My dreams are not just for myself but for my family as well. I am so glad I got the opportunity to volunteer as an AmeriCorps member in this ELAA class because without this opportunity I would have never gotten to know Maria and she would have never impacted my life as she did.


Comments


bottom of page