top of page

Francine Raymond


The Ripple Effect­­­

The ripple effect can start anywhere with a smile, a hug, a kind word, being helpful, also being supported by others. I have had the privilege to have the support of my mentor, civic leaders, and AmeriCorps team. There comes a time in life where it brings us sadness we don’t expect, like the death of a loved one. Without thinking of what sadness can bring, I was not able to give support to a classroom of students. Lucky me I had the support of staff and friends.

One day four ladies came to class, Parwana, Menagual, Kahtima, and Sabur. Happy as can be to be in class, they were ready to learn new things. Knowing they were from a different country I knew I had to be all smiles as they were and be happy as they were. This was kind of hard for me knowing my aunt Margaret was in the hospital dying from cancer. I knew I could not explain to the students my sadness. They were here to learn, have support, and be productive from me, not feel my sadness.

“How could I do this?” I said one day, almost shutting myself out not wanting to hear the world. Knowing that staff knew what I was going through, I reached out to them. After shedding a few tears I was able to pick myself up. I put a smile on my face to help the students in class. Knowing my heart was with my aunt, I also put my heart in the classroom. Showing the students how to learn in a happy way is more productive, with more interaction, and more communication. The ripple effect has begun!! Without support, how could we support ourselves? Unless you’re Superman, in this case Superwoman. I am human, so in order to help others learn effectively, positive support has to come from somewhere. For the students in class, it comes from me.

Today the four ladies are eager to learn, responsive, and productively learning new things. Showing and keeping the mentality of a productive tutor, I am able to give support where support is needed. Focusing on the student’s needs to get them ahead, we are able to move on to next assignment. Communicating together as a whole we are able to get things done and learn. Having support has shown me how to give support to students where support is needed for the students. The ripple effect continues as they leave the classroom to the homes of the student.


Comments


bottom of page