top of page

Dominique Lewis


My experience so far in AmeriCorps has been very rewarding. I feel like I have come a long way from being a young adult who didn’t want anything to do with going back to school; a young adult who wanted more for the future, but didn’t want to try hard enough. I didn’t finish high school and I kept leaving my GED classes. I didn’t see the point. I thought I was a lost because and didn’t deserve a second chance at bettering myself. But somewhere deep down, I realized I did need a second chance, and even more chances after that.

I decided to go back to my GED classes and stay focused. It was working. I knew what I wanted for myself and where I wanted to go after my GED. I studied and pushed myself to stay in class and moved up to the higher level. When I was in class, I didn’t care about participating. I helped others if they got stuck, but that was it. I didn’t build relationships or hold conversations. I just counted the minutes until class was over and left.

I was struggling at home and that seemed to interfere with everything I did. I let it interfere with whatever I did. I was trying to find a part-time job and stay in school. My family needed help with bills and food. I applied to many jobs, but I didn’t want to settle for a meaningless one. All my hope was lost and I was about to give up again.

One day in class, a former AmeriCorps member stood up and introduced himself. He told the class about his service and how AmeriCorps was helping him. Helping people sounded interesting to me. I’m always willing to help my family and so I thought, “Why not help in my community?” So, I went for it. I applied, got the interview and got accepted. To say I was excited would be an understatement. After all the noes I got from jobs, I finally got a yes.

Being a part of AmeriCorps has changed me. It’s changed how I think about myself and changed my quiet disposition. I now voice my opinion, staying focused and motivated towards my goals. I participate in student leadership council. I am a voice on behalf of all the GED students who were in the same position as me. I also shared my stories before public officials. I spoke in front of hundreds of people and now believe in myself much more than I used to. I’m thankful for AmeriCorps for giving me the opportunity and for keeping me in class. If it weren’t for AmeriCorps, my team and my mentors, I would have given up. Today, I’m applying for college. I did end up getting my GED and spoke in front of all the GED grads, their families, and friends. AmeriCorps didn’t just change me; it changed the outcome of my future.


Comments


bottom of page