top of page

Alejandra de la Rosa


When I began in AmeriCorps in August, I was not sure what I would be challenged with or if I would be successful in this endeavor. I was determined, though, to give it my full attention and use the skills that I have for the benefit of others. In the first weeks of AmeriCorps, I realized the amount of people that I could help through this program, and quickly grew to enjoy my work with the students and the teachers.

One night, I was assigned as the interpreter for the ELLA orientation, which consisted of a group of around 80 people. It was the first time in my life that I had translated for such a large group, and I was incredibly nervous. The interpretation lasted for what felt like over an hour, and I became more confident as I continued on. After finishing, it was a confidence boost and made me realize the many ways that I can help in AmeriCorps.

My real pleasure so far in AmeriCorps has been working with the students. I love to tutor in math, as it is my strongest subject, and I fully enjoy finding ways to encourage the students to think in more efficient and productive ways. I have found that I have a natural ability to help others learn and that students enjoy my teaching style. So much that I have been asked if I would like to eventually be a teacher!

There is one student in particular that has turned out to be the most gratifying and unique teaching experience. He has a learning dis-ability and was struggling to grasp the math content before I started to tutor him. Because of the unique way he processes information, I have been thinking outside the box to find ways that will help him succeed and understand the math content. It was a trial and error approach at first to find the way that would help him understand the best and by the end it was color coding his notes that created the most progress for him. Not only did he succeed but I also learned how to be patient and kind while being direct at the same time. Recently, the student’s mom came up to me, greeted me with a smile and told me affectionately that she was thankful of what I was doing for her son and that how he was improving in his math. That was a warm reminder that this work can really create a lasting impact on people.

AmeriCorps so far has been a great, whirling, experience with many different locations and activities to remember. I have immensely enjoyed getting to know the other AmeriCorps members and I am making new friendships as well as creating effective working relationships. Among others, Hope Fest has stood out as a place that signified how many people benefit from the help of people like us and how many more there are that are still in need. I cannot wait for the next quarter and the new experiences that will come. I hope to continue my hard work throughout the entire year and help as many as I am able!


Comments


bottom of page